Important Reminders about HIPAA 5010 Implementation

Effective January 1, 2012, you must be ready to submit your claims electronically using the Accredited Standards Committee (ASC) X12 Version 5010 standards. This also is a prerequisite for implementing the new ICD-10 codes. This Special Edition MLN MattersÆ Article is being provided by CMS to assist you and keep you apprised of progress on Medicare’s implementation of the ASC X12 Version 5010 standards. Remember that the HIPAA standards, including the ASC X12 Version 5010 are national standards and apply to your transactions with all payers, not just with Fee-for-Service (FFS) Medicare. Therefore, you must be prepared to implement these transactions with regard to your non-FFS Medicare business as well. Medicare began Level II transitioning to the new formats on January 1, 2011, and will be ending the exchange of current formats on January 1, 2012. While the new claim format accommodates the ICD-10 codes, ICD-10 codes will not be accepted as part of the 5010 project. Separate MLN MattersÆ articles will address the ICD-10 implementation.

SOURCE: Source

Share This Post:

Search Billing News

Billing News By TAG

Billing News By DATE