Be prepared for new radiology accreditation requirements

Beginning January 1, 2012, Aetna will have new radiology accreditation requirements for their commercial business. To be eligible for reimbursement for the technical component of advanced diagnostic imaging procedures, the following types of providers must be accredited by the American College of Radiology (ACR) and/or the Intersocietal Accreditation Commission (IAC): • Independent diagnostic testing facilities • Freestanding imaging centers • Office-based imaging facilities • Physicians • Non-physician practitioners • Suppliers of advanced diagnostic imaging procedures This accreditation requirement applies to the technical component of advanced diagnostic imaging procedures. For these purposes, advanced diagnostic imaging procedures exclude X-ray, ultrasound, fluoroscopy and mammography. Echocardiograms were removed from the list of advanced diagnostic imaging procedures. Providers not accredited by the ACR or IAC by January 1, 2012 will not be eligible for payment for advanced diagnostic imaging services.

SOURCE: Source

Share This Post:

Search Billing News

Billing News By TAG

Billing News By DATE