CMS announced that incentive payments for the 2010 Medicare Physician Quality Reporting Initiative (PQRI) has begun for eligible professionals who met the criteria for successful reporting. Distribution of 2010 payments 2010 Medicare Physician Quality Reporting Initiative (PQRI) is scheduled to be completed by September 30, 2011. (The program name changed from Physician Quality Reporting Initiative (PQRI) to Physician Quality Reporting System in 2011). Effective January 2010, CMS revised the manner in which incentive payment information is communicated to eligible professionals receiving electronic remittance advices. CMS has instructed Medicare contractors to use a new indicator of LE to indicate incentive payments instead of LS. LE will appear on the electronic remit. In an effort to further clarify the type of incentive payment issued (either PQRI or eRx incentive), CMS created a 4-digit code to indicate the type of incentive and reporting year. For the 2010 PQRI incentive payments, the 4-digit code is PQ10. This code will be displayed on the electronic remittance advice along with the LE indicator. For example, eligible professionals will see LE to indicate an incentive payment, along with PQ10 to identify that payment as the 2010 PQRI incentive payment. Additionally, the paper remittance advice will read, "This is a PQRI incentive payment." The year will not be included in the paper remittance.

SOURCE: Source

Share This Post:

Search Billing News

Billing News By TAG

Billing News By DATE