Important Reminders about Advanced Diagnostic Imaging (ADI) Accreditation Requirements

In order to furnish the Technical Component (TC) of Advanced Diagnostic Imaging (ADI) services for Medicare beneficiaries, you must be accredited by January 1, 2012, to submit claims with a date of service on or after January 1, 2012. The Medicare Improvements for Patients and Providers Act of 2008 (MIPPA) required the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services to designate organizations to accredit suppliers that furnish the TC of ADI services. • ADI procedures include Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), Computed Tomography (CT), and nuclear medicine imaging, including positron emission tomography. • The MIPPA expressly excludes X-ray, ultrasound, and fluoroscopy procedures. • Suppliers of imaging services include, but are not limited to, physicians, non-physician practitioners, and IDTFs. The accreditation requirements apply only to the suppliers of the images themselves (TC) and not the physician’s interpretation (professional component) of the image.

SOURCE: Source

Share This Post:

Search Billing News

Billing News By TAG

Billing News By DATE